Please wait...
  • +94 773 482 900
  • |
  • |


Navaratne Gems Explained

Navaratna means “nine gems” in Sanskrit

Wearing a navaratne set can be for astrological reasons or because you want to balance your energies resulting from changes in the constellation of planets. All nine stones should be inclusion free. Also when setting the stones on jewellery, it is important that the back of the stones are not covered. The energy of the stones are only transmitted when light flows though the stone and hits our skin. Often this is misinterpreted that the stone has to touch the skin.

Each of the nine stones is allocated to a specific planet.

Planetary Cabinet:

The Sun and Moon are the Royal Couple, Mars the Commander, Mercury the Crown Prince, Jupiter and Venus are Ministers and Saturn the Servant. These seven planets also represent in order Soul, Mind, Courage, Speech, Wisdom, Happiness, Sexual passion and grief. They also represent the senses and their functions thus, Mercury governs smell (nose), the Moon and Venus the taste (tongue), the Sun and Mars form (eye) Jupiter sound (ear) and Saturn, Rahu and Ketu touch (skin). Retrieved from

• Ruby or Pink Sapphire: Sun

• Pearl: Moon

• Red coral: Mars

• Emerald, Tourmaline or Green Zirkon: Mercury

• Yellow Sapphire: Jupiter

• Diamond or White Sapphire: Venus

• Blue sapphire (Neelam): Saturn

• Hessonite Garnet: Rahu, the ascending lunar node

• Cat's eye: Ketu, the descending lunar node

Be careful, often synthetic stones are sold in navaratna sets.